brown rice with asparagus and almonds

In the spirit of being healthy I must say I am quite proud of the dinner we had tonight!  I’m not trying to toot my own horn, but, TOOT TOOT! 😉  Tonight I made Italian Baked Porkchops from Sandra Lee’s cookbook and tried a new recipe for brown rice.  I was searching around for a quinoa recipe with almonds but didn’t find any that my taster was tuned to so I took pieces of recipes (especially with ingredients I already had) and made this dish.  (We also had killer salads with lots of fun stuff in them and some homemade balsamic vinaigrette… How do I know they were killer?  Brian said, “Don’t take this the wrong way, but this is a good salad.”  Score!)  😀

Ingredients:

  • 1 C brown rice
  • 2 C vegetable stock
  • 1 bunch asparagus (16-18 stalks), woodsy ends removed, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 1/4 – 1/3 C toasted sliced almonds
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Cook brown rice in vegetable stock until all moisture is absorbed.
  • Steam asparagus or drizzle with olive oil and broil.
  • Toast almonds on low heat until they are slightly browned.  You’ll know they’re close when they start popping and smell really good.
  • Sauté garlic in olive oil and butter on low heat until light brown.  Be careful — don’t let it burn.
  • After the rice is cooked add asparagus, almonds, and garlic with the e.v.o.o. and butter.  Mix well and add salt and pepper to taste.

We really enjoyed it.  I think it would be tasty with as sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.  If you make this or have any good ideas for additions, do share!

Leave a comment