Paleo: Don’t Miss the Point

We are into our second month on the Paleo diet. I feel like I’ve learned a lot and I’m enjoying it more every day. I know it’s not for everyone, but I think everyone could benefit from it. Going dairy-free and gluten-free at the same time is tough. But you will feel so much better the longer you stick with it.

On that note, if you go Paleo and then stock your shelves with gluten-free bread or pasta, gluten-free beer, and dairy-free ice cream, you’re missing the point. Those are just fillers, filling your stomach for now but leaving you hungry later and not giving you any nutrition. The point is to eat whole, unprocessed foods that will fill your stomach and keep you full, keep your blood sugar stable, and help your systems get back in order.

And you don’t have to just have a salad every day. This is my basic math for making a meal:

protein (2 palms-ful)

+ colorful veggie (1 palm)

+ healthy carb (1 palm plus a little)

I’m full and happy for 4+ hours!

I think portion sizes are very important and you should basically do the opposite of what our government has taught. Take a look at this chart I’ve seen floating around Pinterest from a how-to-lose-weight website:

If you want to lose weight or get your blood sugar under control (i.e. get your grumpies under control), you need to eat more protein and drop the rice, pasta, chips, popcorn, and pretzels. It’s that simple. We weren’t trying to lose weight, but we definitely have. (B-skinny more than me…)

All that to say, think about what you’re eating and why you’re eating it. Are you just used to eating a sandwich and chips for lunch every day? Do you think bolognese could only be tasty on pasta? Do you feel like you need something white with every meal? Are you afraid your life won’t be complete without cheese? These were all questions I had to ask myself. And when I get that craving for something salty and crunchy, I ask myself why… usually it’s because I’m bored or I think it will make me feel better.

And then there’s fat… You probably need to be eating more fat. But I’ll save that lecture for another day. 😉

Leave a Reply

