Arnold Palmer, on the rocks

Today’s run was my long one: 5 min blue, 35 min green, 5 min blue. I ended up running for just over an hour, though. I was actually looking forward to this run because I’ve found a route that I enjoy and I tend to feel better the longer I go. I was even more excited when Brimuscle said he would run with me today! We ran a slightly different loop than I normally do because I wanted to be sure I made it past the 5 mile mark without having to double up somewhere.

I discovered a few new things on the micoach website today. If you drag the blue slider left to right, it gives you the break down of all your stats for that exact second. I was watching the calories-burned numbers and noticed they ticked by much faster the higher my heart rate was. (Duh.) So, obviously, if you’re trying to burn calories, you need to work harder. I’ve been guilty of just taking it easy on the elliptical or zoning out on the dreadmill. You gotta put in the effort if you want to see change. (I’m saying this as much to myself as I am to whoever is taking the time to read this.)

I also discovered I can name my routes and save them. See the compass symbol in the top right of that window? I liked today’s route so I saved it and named it Arnold Palmer. It’s one of my favorite drinks and I heard he was a good golfer. πŸ˜‰

After we got back I plopped down on the ground and stretched for a few minutes. This picture does not do the rosie-ness of my cheeks justice. Seriously, I looked like I’d used beet juice as sunscreen.

I’m thinking I need to go to the chiropractor soon. It’s been over a year since my last visit and I’m pretty sure my hips are out of place again. I lean more on my left side and my left knee has been aching. When my hips (which go out easily, apparently) are out, it also makes the muscles in my neck tense so I’m prone to headaches. Yep, I’ll be making that appointment soon.

In other news, I found a video that you have to watch. Even if you hate the song, you have to watch. πŸ™‚ I’ve watched it at least 10 times today.

My favorite is the .25second clip of Obama with school kids saying “Hey!” πŸ™‚

And here’s the original in cased you missed it:

Leave a Reply

