chia puddin

Today’s workout included a 30 min run and a strength/flexibility sesh. I took advantage of the aMAHzing weather this morning and got the toddler out the door by 9:00 for the run: 10 min blue (think 3 out of 10 effort), 10 min yellow (think 7 out of 10 effort), 10 min blue while pushing the toddler in her stroller. It was difficult to maintain a slow enough speed to stay in the blue zone and I got worn out fast during the yellow. …my score also sucked again today because somehow I managed to pause the app for the last 10 minutes so it didn’t record properly. My bad. I guess that’s what I get for carrying/wearing my phone in my bra. Sorry, Reggie.

I fueled up for my run with some homemade chocolate chia pudding!

I put 2 tbsp of chia seeds in a small container with about 2-3 ozs of chocolate almond milk and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Yum! If you like chocolate almond milk and don’t hate rice pudding, you’ll probably love this! So much nutrition packed into the wee snack! (Check out this article about chia seeds so I don’t have to get into it with you right now.)

Even though we played outside for over an hour, the toddler still had loads of energy when we got home, so this is what went on…

I got motion sickness swinging too high on the swings at the park, I think I’d loose my cookies if I spun around even half as much as she did. But twirly skirts are hard to resist. 😉

When I got home, I chillaxed for a bit, working on my next painting project before I got going on the strength/flexibility session. Did I mention I love this app? I think it’s also worth mentioning that it’s not just for the iPhone. If you have an ipod touch, android, or blackberry, you can get your GTL on, too.

No heavy lifting today, just resistance with bands since I don’t have the cable machine in my home. And lots of squats, like my favorite one here, the sumo:

As you can see, this one got my heart rate up (it stayed around 95 bpm for most of the resistance exercises).

And then there was this move. Not awkward at all…If you’ve done P90X, you’ll sort of recognize this stretch. I do really appreciate that there are stretches in the midst of the exercises.

I’ve stayed up way too late talking about myself, so that’s it. Good night folks!

2 thoughts on “chia puddin

  1. I love love love chia seeds. I throw them in everything from spaghetti sauce to muffin batter. They have so much nutritional value. I haven’t thought of combining them with chocolate milk, but it sounds good. I’ll have to give that one a try ASAP!

Leave a Reply

