is it supper or dinner?

Being at my Grandma’s this weekend, I also learned that they don’t use the word lunch as often as the rest of the world. There’s breakfast, lunch, dinner, and supper. I always get confused, but I believe they use dinner to refer to lunch on Sundays. And when inquiring as to the type of food you would like to have at the next meal, one might be asked, “What’s your taster tuned to?

You also may be greeted with a common phrase (to which I forgot my standard reply), “Whatcha know good?” Uhhhm… “Aw, nothin’. You?

Anyway, in honor of my southern roots, I decided to make a good semi-homecooked meal. Plus I had all the ingredients.

Crockpot BBQ Chicken. Find the recipe here. I used a bottle of Blue Moon Pumpkin Ale because I had some in the fridge. It was delicious. But it confirmed that I do not care for the smell of beer. Did you know that dark ales, stouts, or what have you are good sources of iron? The darker the better, as I always say.

Cornbread in Grandma’s cornbread skillet. I used Jiffy’s cornbread mix and added a sprinkling of garlic powder and paprika to the batter. I also added a handful of frozen corn because I like the little surprises of sweet, corny goodness. And Jiffy’s is only 50 cents a box! Can’t beat that with a stick! {I added my Jazzed Up Jiffy recipe to the Recipes page, click “Recipes” above.}

Note: your cornbread should be made in a round skillet. Said skillet should be reserved only for making cornbread as cooking anything else in it may ‘rurn‘ it. Translation: ruin.

Baked beans from a can, but I added a little brown sugar.

Mmm. Pickled beets. I’ve been craving these and since I don’t know how to make them, yet, I just bought some. Nearly as good as Gma’s.

We were happy!

...from our date night a few weeks ago.

Leave a Reply

