I pinned it AND made it.

Yesterday I mentioned that my house was stinky. That inspired me to make something I had pinned a while ago on pinterest. Enter: homemade air freshener! It was super cheap to make and is chemical-free!

Here is the line-up:

  • 1/2 C boiling water
  • 1/2 C cold water
  • 2 packets gelatin
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • essential oils (I chose orange.)
  • glass jar with lid that can hold 1 C
  • food coloring (optional)
  • 30 Rock, Season 2 Ep. 9, Ludachristmas playing in the background (also optional)

At first I wasn’t going to dye the gel, but I figured colored gel would look better than a ghostly white (read: I don’t want it to match my legs). So I dug out my colorant alimentaire. No? Oh that’s right, we don’t speak French here. Se habla español.

Then I remembered I forgot the salt. {Sad side note: This should’ve been measured in my beautiful ceramic measuring spoon from Anthropologie but sadly, the 1 tbsp was destroyed by the garburator. 😦 And the cherry on top of the sundae of death is that you can no longer buy them. 😦 :(}

After the water comes to a boil, add 2 packets of gelatin and 1 tablespoon of salt, stir until the gelatin is dissolved. Add 1/2 C cold water. Because my pot is black, I poured my mixture into a Pyrex cup so I could see the colors I was making. This is 20 drops yellow + 1 drop red. I could watch the drips dance all night…

Here’s the color I ended up with.

I looked through my jar collection (I may have a problem…) and decided to use this one.

After dissolving the gelatin and salt and adding your colors, pour the liquid into your jar(s), then add your essential oils. I think I counted about 30 drops. I don’t know, at first they wouldn’t come out and then all of a sudden it was dripping faster than I could count and I got stressed. Anyway, I decided not to use the tea tree oil because as soon as I opened it, the smell reminded me of being sick. I’ll stick to using it for health remedies rather than an air freshener.

At this point, I realized I forgot the salt again. I noticed that the oils were floating to the top and thought maybe the salt was supposed to help disperse them…? Can you see the little oil beads floating?

So I dumped in the salt, closed the lid, and shook it until it all looked dissolved. As it began to set, it grew more and more opaque.

This morning, when we opened it, it smelled wonderful! (Don’t refrigerate it, btw. It will set up on its own.) Even Hungry Man said it smelled good enough to eat.

Isn’t it pretty (minus the bug)? I kind of like it in the sunlight. 🙂 And the total cost of the project was $1.75 for the packet of gelatin! I had everything else!

…now that the holidays are upon us (WalMart was playing Christmas music yesterday!!! And I was again informed that I’m not allowed to play Christmas music until after Thanksgiving.) I’m getting all sorts of ideas for scents around the house and gifts. We’ll see though, we’ll see. One pin at a time.

Leave a Reply

