a chill in the air

Today we woke up to autumn. (Well, technically, it was chilly when we got home late last night.) It is officially chilly outside. While I thought I was ready for the heat to subside, I realized this morning, I’m not entirely ready for fall to roll in. I’ve only been up for an hour or two and I already miss the sunshine. But the good news is that it’s supposed to be back up into the 80’s next week! πŸ™‚ I believe that this weather was, in part, a birthday gift for my friend Ginna. Speaking of which, Ginna and her husband have gotten us hooked on How I Met Your Mother, aka HIMYM. They lent us a few seasons on DVD so we could hopefully catch up before the next one starts. In less than a week. I thought we had it covered, we’re experts at watching many seasons in a row of shows. But then I was told that there are 6 seasons! I don’t think it’s humanly possible. But I will say we have enjoyed getting to know the characters and, don’t judge me, Barney (not the purple dinosaur) is my favorite.

 

The other day Ginna’s husband mentioned how it feels like college, hanging out with friends in the dorms. I must admit, I love that. I have also loved hanging out with people that I have known for at least 10 years, if not more. Last night we had dinner at my freshman-year college roommate’s house with her and her husband. It was great. We told stories. Shared some laughs. I was invited to a 50 cent concert. I was told I have a ridiculous memory. (Side note: Sometimes I think I am a little bit of an idiot savant, minus the autism. Why can I remember things this way? I can picture things, exactly what rooms looked like, what clothes we were wearing, sometimes who said what… If only I could remember words and pages, I would’ve done a lot better in history class.) We had an amazing southern dinner with cheeseburgers, baked beans, fried okra, and sweet tea. And there came up a thunderstorm while we were eating on the screened in porch. LOVELY. (I realize that usually if something is lovely, the describer is mild-manneredly using that word. But I felt emphasism was needed.) (I just made up two words.)

 

Brian just said to me, “You have le problems.” πŸ˜‰

 

I would also like to direct your attention to An American’s Guide to Canada. My friend Jill shared it with me yesterday and I had a good time reading through it. I’m such a keener. I still call the garbage disposal a garburator. And I will probably always say “hey” at the end of my sentences, when appropriate. But a winter hat, that which the Canucks call a toque, will always be a toboggan.

 

Can I also say how much I am loving the Pandora app on my iPhone? I leave it on the Mumford and Sons channel. Don’t judge me again, but I want to make a K.D. Lang channel to. That woman can sing. And also a Johnny Cash channel.

 

It’s time for work now. Suit up.

 

I don't like posts without pictures.

One thought on “a chill in the air

  1. 1. Southern food sounds really good. You should post your best southern recipes! Or your recipe for sweet tea! πŸ™‚
    2. A toboggan is a sled! The word can also be used as a verb. E.g. “Let’s go tobogganing down the hill at SFU!”

Leave a Reply

