back in business

So I took a break from blogging while home.  It was swell.  Lots of family time.  Lots of friend time.  Lots of road time.  But it always goes by too quickly.

Some of the highlights:

Playing with Bailey!  She’s practically my neice and she’s super cute.

Playing with Malachi!  He is my legitimate nephew and super cute.  Plus, I think he likes me. 🙂

Wandering all over Intercourse with the in-laws.  You can check out some of my tweets from that day.

 

NEW COMPUTER!  Sadly, the old Dell died.  And took with it my entire harddrive.  As much as people tried, we could not retrieve anything from its icy death grip. 😦 But the new Mac is swell. 🙂

 

Actually being in the same room as all of my cousins!  (Although there was a huge hole because my sister was sick and unable to come until the very end.) We gather each Christmas Eve with my dad’s side of the family for a late lunch of soup and salad.  And a rousing game of Dirty Santa (or White Elephant).  I think it’s been at least 6 years since we were all together like that. 🙂  I don’t have a photo for this one, but my Aunt Kathy took about 100 so hopefully they’ll end up on Facebook for your viewing pleasure.

 

A white Christmas!  First time in many decades.

 

Discovering the hilarity of Google Translate.  Hours of entertainment to be had! I don’t know but I’ve been told…

Chick-fil-a birthday breakfast. 🙂  (And, I’ll admit, at least 10 other meals.)

I think this trip made me realize how many Canadian-isms are ingrained in me.  I found myself feeling quite weird wearing my shoes inside the house… Canadians politely take theirs off at the door.  I had to think really hard to ask for directions to the Restroom and not the Washroom.  I also found words forming differently in my mouth and I sounded like an out-of-towner, especially at first.  E.g. I kept thinking my “out” sounded more like “oat” compared to others’.  But then I decided I didn’t care.

We’re back in business now, getting ready for a busy month.  Several days of staff training, a weekend to celebrate our 5 year anniversary, and lots of… soccer.  And not just FIFA 11.  At least we’re starting the year off right! 🙂

Leave a Reply

