thoughts on LOST *Spoiler Alert*

If you don’t watch Lost but plan to some day or if you haven’t seen the final episode yet and are planning to, stop reading now unless you want to know my theories…

.

.

.

.

.

.

Sometimes when I’m in that place between waking and sleeping I figure stuff out.  I remember things I couldn’t remember earlier in the day.  Or I figure out where something is that I thought was lost.

.

Speaking of LOST, this morning a theory came to me.  It’s 6:30AM the morning after I stayed up until 1:00AM watching Lost related things and I should be asleep but my brain woke me up so I’m writing things down in hopes that I’ll be able to go back to sleep.  So you’ll have to forgive me if this doesn’t make complete sense but here goes…

.

Locke told Jack he doesn’t have a son because Locke had just realized that the flash-sideways wasn’t real life.  All of the flash-sideways events are where the people go on their way to the afterlife.  They are living out an alternate but similar reality until each of them, each of the chosen ones from Oceanic 815 and a few others, dies.  It is a waiting room of sorts.  I think Jack must have been the last one to die from the chosen ones because he was the last one to realize (from the flashes that they were “seeing” while in the flash-sideways) that his real life existed elsewhere.  This waiting room of sorts exists outside of our time line, outside of our time itself.  It is an opportunity for them to relive life, including some of the what-ifs they may have pondered in real life.  For instance, Jack may have thought, “What if I had a child? How much better would my life be?”  So it doesn’t matter who Jack’s son is or that Nadia married Sayid’s brother, because it wasn’t real.  It explains how Sun and Jin all of a sudden remembered that they speak English.  Though I do still wonder why Benjamin chose not to join them in the church.  The flash-sideways provided an opportunity for the producers to include each of our favorite characters, the chosen ones, in the final season and somewhat  wrap up everything into a loose but messy denouement.

.

I’m sure as I continue to ponder these things I’ll realize more or even something that I’m wrong about here… but I just wanted to get it written down before it all escapes me.  And if you watch Lost, do let me know what you think of it all!  Okay, maybe not what you think of ALL of it, but you know what I mean.

3 thoughts on “thoughts on LOST *Spoiler Alert*

  1. So… I think they didn’t include ben because nobody really liked him… like seriously until the last episode where we saw some glimmer of redemption he was always being beat up! Who wants their nirvana including a guy that has caused so much pain… yeah… he can wait outside. 🙂 hehea

Leave a Reply

