Vancouver, the Hollywood of the North

Today they were filming something on campus and I was quite intrigued at the whole setup. Bad Angel Productions was filming something from their show Fallen. I never realized what all goes on behind the scenes. But at the same time, it was rather annoying not being able to walk on the sidewalks or get to a parking lot. I’ve seen lots of film crews set up all around the Greater Vancouver Area since moving, it’s becoming kind of routine. But today was the first time I got to see a scene being filmed. I didn’t recognize any of the actors, but then if they’re not on Gilmore Girls then I wouldn’t know them. I tried finding a picture from the internet but I couldn’t find anything. Not even on Google!

The fact that they were filming something on campus today really distracted me. I don’t know why but I couldn’t focus very well. Then I asked myself, “Why is this such a big deal? I don’t even know who they are.” Why is it such a big deal when there is a celebrity sighting? Why do we care so much about people on tv or music artists? I don’t want my life to be so easily thrown off course because of a person I don’t even know. I don’t want to be sucked into the magazines in the checkout lines or the entertainment news tv shows. Life is about so much more than that.

One thought on “Vancouver, the Hollywood of the North

  1. On Tuesday, I saw this one guy who at first glance just looked like another student, but then I was like, wait a sec, he seems familiar. I thought about it some more as I walked to the library for our discipleship study. Then I was like that’s the guy who was Amy’s boyfriend on Everwood!Long story.You’re right though; it’s not a big deal. Like I said, he pretty much looked like any other student. And really celebrities are just other people. Sometimes I wonder who is sharing Christ with celebrities.

Leave a Reply

